Skip Navigation

Foundation seeks Medal of Honor nominations
December 2, 2013

ORLANDO —February 3, 2014 is the deadline for submission of nominees for The Florida Bar Foundation's 2014 Medal of Honor awards.

The Medal of Honor Award is given in two categories: 1) a member of The Florida Bar (including practicing lawyers, judges or teachers in the legal field); and 2) a non-lawyer (including lawyers who are not currently practicing). All nominees must be Florida residents.

Nominees in the lawyer category must have demonstrated dedication to the purpose of The Florida Bar, which strives " inculcate in its members the principles of duty and service to the public, to improve the administration of justice, and to advance the science of jurisprudence."

The 2013 Medal of Honor Award in the lawyer category was presented to Miami attorney Robert C. Josefsberg for his steadfast commitment to protecting the rights of disadvantaged individuals, children, victims, families, elderly, homeless and other vulnerable groups. Past recipients of the award also include Henry M. "Hank" Coxe, III of Jacksonville, Bruce B. Blackwell of Orlando, and Joseph P. Milton of Jacksonville.

Nominees in the non-lawyer category must have made outstanding contributions to the improvement of the administration of justice in Florida through research, writing, or other deeds of significant character and quality.

Past recipients of the non-lawyer award include Kathleen "Katie" Self of Sarasota for her tireless efforts in getting the Justin McWilliams Act passed and for her dedication to the education of young people on making confident and responsible choices, Elizabeth Lander "Budd" Bell of Tallahassee for over four decades of volunteer advocacy to improve the lives of Florida's children, elderly, and disabled persons, and Dr. Walter F. Lambert of Miami for being a legend to the Pediatricians in Florida, a legend to social workers and attorneys who work with families, a legend in the courts, and superman to many little children.

Nominations for The Florida Bar Foundation's highest honor should describe the specific achievements that would qualify an individual for the Medal of Honor, and also include a brief biographical sketch of the nominee.

The Medal of Honor awards will be presented at the annual dinner of the Foundation during The Florida Bar annual meeting on June 26, 2014 at the Gaylord Palms Resort in Orlando.

Past Medal of Honor Recipients
Nomination form -- Lawyer
Nomination form -- Non-Lawyer

Grant Programs

Revenue from Florida's Interest on Trust Accounts (IOTA) program is the chief source of support for the Foundation’s grant programs. Learn more.

IOTA Program Information

The Interest on Trust Accounts (IOTA) program was implemented by the Florida Supreme Court in 1981. The nation’s first IOTA program, it serves as a model for similar programs across the country and creates millions of dollars in funding for legal aid each year. Learn more.